Learning & Unlearning With Kaatoony The Caricature Artist

For the first time ever, live caricature will feature at an Ink Overflow event. Brought to us by the talented KaaToony Caricatures who is only a year into his craft and has mastered the art of speed cartoon portraits. His self-education has been an intricate process and we sat with him and had a little chat.

Ink Overflow: When did you decide to become an artist?

KaaToony Caricatures: When I realized that art is a serious career. That happened when my cousin came to live with us while he pursued a diploma in graphic design. I was making art way before then but I didn’t know I could do it as a career.

I.O: Was caricature always your interest?

K.C: Not particularly. I started out as a painter and part-time illustrator and I loved making funny faces of people, just for the fun of it. I never thought it would turn into anything until last year while looking for opportunities to leverage my skills to increase my income. After a bit of research and practice, here I am…

IO: Where did you learn your art?

KC: I learned most of what I know in Kenyatta University where I pursued a degree in Fine Art

IO: How do you structure your days?

KC: Weekdays are mostly studio days, I make my own work: collages,  paintings or commissions. I draw caricatures mostly on weekends and evenings

IO: What is your favorite part of caricature?

KC: When I successfully exaggerate a face and manage to make people laugh. That keeps me going

IO: What would you have done differently if you knew then what you know now?

KC: I should have read those art books in school and paid more attention to my sketchbook. Would be way better today

IO: What’s the best advice you ever received?

KC: A good artist doesn’t copy, he steals. For real!

IO: What is still your biggest challenge in Kenya’s art industry?

KC: Getting art materials

IO: Is art full time for you?

KC: Yap!

IO: Who inspired the last thing you drew?

KC: Well, that last thing I drew today was an illustration for a children book so I guess the story inspired it. 

IO: How do you deal with creative blocks?

KC: I work on different projects at the same time so when I block on one I move on to the next.

IO: What is beauty to you?

KC: Something or someone that attracts you.

IO: What advice do you have for other artists?

KC: Learn, un-learn, re-learn and repeat the process.

Make sure to get your own custom caricature portrait at Art and Poetry. Get your advance tickets on Mookh

Leave a Reply

